Squirrels in Kashrus

Most of us are very surprised to discover that a passage of Gemara (Avodah Zarah 68b-69a) discusses the taste of squirrels (see Rashi ad loc.). The quality of their taste is relevant to halacha notwithstanding that squirrels are non-kosher rodents, a category that includes mice, beavers and rats. In the Aramaic dialect of the Gemara, squirrels are called achbara dedabra, literally, achbarim of the field, as opposed to achbara demasa, achbarim of the city, which refers to mice, which are also usually called just achbar (singular; the additional aleph at the end of the word achbara is simply the Aramaic version of the Hebrew word). As the Gemara notes, whereas mice are not favored as cuisine, non-Jewish royal families considered squirrels a delicacy. Even in the United States, two presidents, William Henry Harrison and James Garfield, are known to have favored squirrel stew as White House fare. (Don’t blame this commonality for their short times as president; Harrison died of pneumonia and Garfield was assassinated. Neither died of stomach poisoning!)

When the Torah lists the eight creeping creatures (sheratzim) whose remains generate tumah that contaminates food, people and vessels, one of the eight listed is the achbar (Vayikra 11:29). This factor will actually become significant to our discussion, since the eight sheratzim generate tumah when a very small piece, the size of an adasha, a lentil, is extant.

Rodents are mammals, and the Torah’s definition of kosher animals includes only those that chew their cud and have split hooves, both features that evade all rodents. Thus, all rodents are non-kosher. So, our reader will ask: What halachic difference does it make whether squirrels, mice or beavers are delicacies for the non-Jewish palate or not? Whether they are cooked by Jews or non-Jews they are prohibited min haTorah, so the concept that they might be oleh al shulchan melachim (could be served at a king’s table), and may therefore be included in the prohibition of bishul akum,should be irrelevant; they are very non-kosher!

Understanding properly the passage of Gemara discussing squirrel meat requires a lengthy introduction. When a non-kosher substance mixes into kosher food, and the non-kosher food is removed or can no longer be identified, the food is usually permitted when the kosher food is sixty times the quantity of the non-kosher. Although it is forbidden to eat non-kosher, when the ratio of the non-kosher is so small that it cannot be tasted, the offending substance is nullified, bateil. Chazal arrived at the figure of sixty to one by noting that most prohibited foods will not be tasted when their percentage is this small. However, if the non-kosher food can still be tasted, such as, it possesses a strong flavor, the mixture will still be prohibited, notwithstanding that there is sixty times more kosher than non-kosher.

The same is true when the non-kosher substance is still identifiable in a different way, such as by its consistency. In this instance, the finished product is permitted only if the identifiable non-kosher substance is removed, such as by filtering it out. Similarly, some authorities prohibit consuming a substance that contains a tiny component of non-kosher food coloring. Although it cannot be tasted, it is still noticeable by the color of the product (Pri Megadim, Mishbetzos Zahav 100:1; Minchas Kohen, Sefer Hata’aroves 3:3, quoted by Darkei Teshuvah 102:30; cf. Pri Chadash, Yoreh Deah 102:5; Minchas Yaakov, 74:5; Gra Yoreh Deah 102:6 and Chasam Sofer, quoted by Darkei Teshuvah, who disagree).

Nosein ta’am lifgam

At times, the residual flavor that a food provides is nosein ta’am lifgam, which means that the taste is unappetizing. The tanna’im dispute whether the unappetizingflavor of a non-kosher item into a kosher food renders the food non-kosher. Rabbi Meir contends that nosein ta’am lifgam is prohibited — all residual flavor is prohibited, whether or not it is tasty. Rabbi Shimon disagrees, contending that nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted — the Torah prohibited the appetizing flavor of non-kosher substances, but not an unappetizing non-kosher flavor (Avodah Zarah 67b).

There are many reasons why a food might be nosein ta’am lifgam. One is because the non-kosher food or its residue is mildly spoiled. Another possibility is that people do not enjoy the flavor of that component in this particular food.

We should note that something is considered nosein ta’am lifgam even if it is only mildly distasteful. If most people prefer to eat this mixture without the taste added by the minor ingredient, that flavor qualifies as nosein ta’am lifgam.

The Mishnah (Avodah Zarah 65b) rules that nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted. This is also the conclusion of the Gemara in numerous places (Avodah Zarah 36a, 38b, 39b, 65b, 67b) and that of the halachic authorities (Rambam, Hilchos Ma’achalos Asuros 17:2; Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 103:5; 122:6). Therefore, although eating a food that includes a pleasant taste or residue of non-kosher is prohibited, when the non-kosher is not identifiable in the finished product and does not provide an appetizing flavor, the food is permitted.

Also note that it is never permitted to create a situation of bitul. Bitul is always a concept that exists after the fact – after the prohibited item became mixed in. It is forbidden to intentionally add a non-kosher ingredient to a food, even when it will be bateil in the final product. This rule is called ein mevatlin issur lechatchilah, literally, one cannot create, up front, a situation of bitul.

Rav’s achbar

This lengthy introduction has provided sufficient background to discuss the topic that I promised we would in my opening sentences to this article. The Gemara (Avodah Zarah 68b) tells us the following story: The students of Rav Sheishes’ yeshiva had heard of an incident in which an achbar had fallen into a vat of beer and that the great amora, Rav, had prohibited consumption of the entire vat, even after the achbar was removed. Although absorption of taste usually requires that the two products be heated together, which presumably did not happen to this vat of beer, there are other ways that taste can be transferred from one food to another. One example of this is kavush ki’mevushal, which literally translates as “marinating is like cooking.” A food item that sits in a liquid for 24 consecutive hours causes the flavor of the food and liquid to blend together; if one of them is non-kosher its flavor will prohibit the rest. Unless we are dealing with a salty or pungent food, the rule of kavush ki’mevushal applies only when the two sit together for at least 24 hours. If an ambient non-kosher ingredient lands in a kosher liquid and is removed before 24 hours have passed, the liquid remains kosher after the identifiable parts of the non-kosher matter are removed (Shulchan Aruch Yoreh Deah 104:1).

Let us return to our passage of Gemara: An achbar fell into a vat of beer; Rav prohibited the consumption of the entire vat. Why did Rav prohibit the beer? If the taste of marinated mice does not improve beer, this is nosein ta’am lifgam and the beer is permitted!

The students of Rav Sheishes, who had heard about Rav’s ruling, could think of only one option – that Rav accepts the opinion of Rabbi Meir prohibiting nosein ta’am lifgam. This would render the beer forbidden if the achbar was large enough to provide taste into the beer – in other words, there was less than sixty times beer in the vat, relative to the achbar.

The Gemara is not satisfied that Rav followed the stringent ruling of Rabbi Meir, presumably because of the multiplicity of places in which the Mishnah and the Gemara rule that nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted. To resolve Rav’s ruling, the Gemara presents three other approaches to explain why Rav prohibited the beer.

Repulsive foods

Rav Sheishes, the rosh yeshiva to whom the question was referred, contended that there is an exception to the general rule that nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted. In his opinion, a prohibited item that initially has a good taste and now renders a bad taste into another food is permitted because of nosein ta’am lifgam. But this applies only to a prohibited item that originally had a good taste. However, when the Torah forbids something that people find repulsive, the prohibition remains, even if it is nosein ta’am lifgam in a mixture. The logic for this position is that, in these instances, the Torah prohibited an item even though people loathe eating it. Therefore, the Torah was prohibiting even the ill taste of these items.

According to this approach, nosein ta’am lifgam is limited to foods that taste good but do not add benefit to the food in which they are mixed; nosein ta’am lifgam never applies to items that people do not usually consume as food. Since most people do not appreciate the fine taste of mice meat, this is always nosein ta’am lifgam, yet the Torah forbade it notwithstanding. Therefore, in Rav Sheishes’ opinion, a nosein ta’am lifgam of mice remains prohibited, and beer, or any other food or beverage, is forbidden when it contains a flavor from a repulsive, prohibited substance.

Squirrel

A second approach to explain Rav’s ruling is presented by Rav Shimi of Nahardea, who explains that the achbar that fell into the vat of beer was not an achbara demasa, a city achbar, also known as a mouse. It was an achbara dedabra, a squirrel, which non-Jewish royalty considered to be a delicacy. Squirrels are never considered nosein ta’am lifgam. The beer for which this squirrel gave its last moments of total devotion acquired a fine taste because of the squirrel meat. This is a case in which the non-kosher provides a positive flavor to the mixture, and the beer is prohibited for consumption min haTorah. If these are the facts with which Rav was dealing, it is obvious why he forbade the beer.

Beer is different

The final approach the Gemara provides is that of Rava, who is uncertain what Rav held, but suggests that although nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted, marinated mouse improves beer. Tosafos suggests that the mouse improves the fermentation of the beer – but not because of any “mousy” taste profile. The improved fermentation is a positive taste provided by a non-kosher substance, thereby explaining why Rav forbade the beer.

Note that although these are four very different approaches to explaining why Rav ruled stringently, the reasons provided are not mutually exclusive. The halachic authorities conclude that we accept the reason of Rav Shimi of Nahardea that squirrel meat is considered tasty and provides a good flavor into other food (Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 104:1). They also consider it a possibility that Rava’s approach is correct — mice might enhance the fermentation of beer.

The halachic authorities infer that the conclusion of the Gemara rejects Rav Sheishes’ approach and, therefore, the principle of nosein ta’am lifgam applies even to something that people find repulsive (Toras Habayis, Bayis 4, end of Sha’ar 1, page 20a; Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 104:3; Gra, Yoreh Deah 104:2).

To review: the halachic conclusion drawn from this passage of Gemara is that there are two ways that we can explain Rav’s ruling:

(1) The achbar that fell into the beer vat was a squirrel, which provides a good taste into the beer (Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 104:1). This vat could be marketed as a specialty beer product, but only to a non-Jewish market since it is non-kosher.

(2) Rav’s case was indeed a mouse, not a squirrel, but marinated mouse provides a special positive quality to the fermentation of beer that is not nosein ta’am lifgam.

Both approaches accept that a mouse that fell into oil or wine would not prohibit the product, even if it was more than one part per sixty. This is because it is nosein ta’am lifgam (Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 104:2).

Mice in vinegar

Having provided four possible solutions for Rav’s ruling, the Gemara then inquires as to whether an achbar that falls into vinegar provides a good taste or not. According to Tosafos (Avodah Zarah 69a s. v. Eibaya),the Gemara was asking the following: We are aware that pungent foods have the ability to improve tastes that are otherwise nosein ta’am lifgam. (See Mishnah, Avodah Zarah 35b, that chiltis, an exceedingly pungent food, that issliced with a non-kosher knife becomes prohibited, notwithstanding that we usually assume that residual flavors in equipment is already spoiled and nosein ta’am lifgam; see Tosafos, Avodah Zarah 67b; 69a.) This author notes that when examining the formulae used for natural or artificial flavoring, it is common to find components that are inherently very distasteful but, as an ingredient, contribute to a delicious flavor.

The Gemara questions whether vinegar, a very pungent substance, has the ability to turn the nosein ta’am lifgam of mouse meat into a positive flavor.

Shredded mice

The Gemara proceeds to discuss another shaylah. What is the halacha if a mouse was shredded and the shredded pieces fell into a liquid. As we will see, although the Gemara mentions the case when mice shreds fell into vinegar, the halacha will be the same whether they fell into vinegar or any other liquid; it also make no difference whether they were submerged in the liquid for 24 hours or not.

Understanding this discussion also requires an introduction: The Beis Hamikdash contained chambers wherein met the Sanhedrin, the halachic supreme court that was composed of the 71 greatest Torah scholars of the generation. When the Sanhedrin existed, there was a high level of enforcement of the mitzvos of the Torah. In this era, someone eating a Torah-prohibited substance was punishable by malkus. This would happen only when the sinner received a warning that the local beis din might discipline him for his iniquity. At least two eyewitnesses needed to testify that the perpetrator received the warning, acknowledged that he understood it and nevertheless immediately consumed the forbidden food. Only under these circumstances would the beis din punish him. Moreover, the sinner was guilty only if he ate a minimum size of the prohibited food, usually a kezayis, an olive-sized piece.

The rishonim (to Me’ilah 16b) dispute whether the minimum size to receive malkus for violating the prohibition of eating prohibited sheratzim is a kezayis or a smaller size, referred to as a ka’adasha, the size of a lentil bean. Rashi and the Rashba understand that one is chayov malkus for consuming even the smaller size, whereas Tosafos explains that the punishment is meted out only for someone consuming the size equivalent to a kezayis.

In today’s world, we unfortunately do not have the Sanhedrin meeting in the Beis Hamikdash and, consequently, these sins are not prosecuted. Nevertheless, there are halachos that result because the chiyuv malkus for eating a sheretz is even when consuming only a ka’adasha.

The passage of Gemara (Avodah Zarah 69a) prohibits consuming vinegar that contains shredded mouse meat. There are two different reasons why this mixture is prohibited.

1. The shredded pieces of mouse are discernible in the liquid. The only way to permit this liquid is by first filtering out all pieces. This is true regardless of what type of liquid it is, regardless as to whether the non-kosher food tastes good or not, and regardless as to how long the non-kosher food remained in the liquid. The prohibition here is because the non-kosher is discernible in the mixture and therefore not bateil.

2. There is another concern here. Since pieces as small as a ka’adasha of a non-kosher sheretz, of which mice are one of the eight types, can make one culpable for malkus, there is no bitul when pieces this small may still be in the mixture. This would be true even when the kosher food in which it became mixed has its own lumpy parts, such as a stew, cholent or porridge. Chazal prohibited consuming this food because of the possible presence of a piece large enough to be a punishable offense (see Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 104:1). This contrasts with the earlier case of the passage of Gemara in which an achbar fell into beer, but was removed, and therefore the question was only about the taste left in the beer by the achbar.

We should always hope and pray that the food we eat fulfills all the halachos that the Torah commands us.

Beer, Oil and Honey

In honor of Chanukah, I present an article that includes the Gemara’s questions about the kashrus of vegetable and olive oil.

Question #1: Beer

“Is it permitted to drink beer in a tavern?”

Question #2: Oil

“May I purchase vegetable oil from a non-Jew?”

Question #3: Honey

“Does pure honey present any kashrus issues?”

Answer

Because of concerns about inappropriate interaction with our surroundings, Chazal implemented several important gezeiros, including bishul akum, the prohibition against eating food cooked by a non-Jew, and pas akum,which, under certain circumstances, prohibits bread baked by a non-Jew. The Mishnah and Gemara discuss whether oil, honey and beer are included in these gezeiros, a topic that is highly educational.

Beer

Our opening question was: “Is it permitted to drink beer in a tavern?” The Gemara (Avodah Zarah 31b, see also Tosafos s.v. Mipnei) states that it is prohibited to drink the beer of non-Jews and quotes a dispute between amora’im why this is so. Rabbi Yitzchak prohibits it because of concerns of intermarriage, whereas Rav Nachman prohibits it because of concerns about product contamination.

The Gemara then mentions the opinions of several amora’im, some of whom held like Rabbi Yitzchak, that the reason for the prohibition is because of concerns of intermarriage, and others who held like Rav Nachman, that there are contamination concerns. For example, Rav and his son Rav Chiya held like Rav Nachman; however, they explained that not all individuals need to be concerned. This is because the hops in the beer serve as a medicinal antidote that helps many people.

On the other hand, the Gemara reports that Rav Papa would purchase beer from a tavern and carry it outside the door of the store and drink it there, whereas Rav Achai would bring the beer home first and drink it there. Both of them held that the prohibition was because of intermarriage; once the beer is removed from the jurisdiction of the non-Jew, it is permitted. In other words, we are no longer concerned about the social interactions that might result. If the concern was because of product contamination, what difference would it make where one drinks it? The Gemara explains that Rav Papa and Rav Achai both agree that it is permitted to drink beer of a non-Jew once it is removed it from his premises. Rav Achai added a personal chumra: not to drink the beer until he came home.

Why is beer different?

There is a very obvious question here: The other prohibitions that Chazal instituted because of concerns of social interaction, such as bishul akum and pas akum on cooked foods and bread, are not dependent upon where you are. Why does the prohibition concerning the beer of non-Jews apply only in the non-Jew’s home or business?

Among the rishonim, we find several approaches to explain this question. I will present just one approach, that of the Tosafos Rid (Avodah Zarah 65b), who explains that, in the other instances, the main concern is that you will find the foods produced by the non-Jew to be very tasty, and this eventually might lead to inappropriate social interactions. However, in the instance of beer, the concern is not the food, but the socializing itself, and prohibiting drinking the beer where the non-Jew lives and works is a sufficient safeguard to prevent inappropriate activity. (Those who would like to research this question more extensively are referred to the commentaries of the Ramban and theRashba, Avodah Zarah 31b.)

How do we rule?

We have a general halachic rule that, among the tanna’im and amora’im, the halacha follows the last authority who voiced an opinion. The reason for this rule is that, when a great Torah scholar analyzed the differing earlier approaches to a question and decided a certain way, we may rely on his diligence in analyzing the topic carefully, including the rulings and considerations of those who preceded him.

Historically, the latest amora’im to discuss this topic were Rav Pappa and Rav Achai, both of whom ruled that the prohibition was because of concerns about social interaction, but held that it is permitted to drink beer of  a non-Jew, once it is removed from the gentile’s place.

Bishul akum

Why isn’t beer prohibited because of bishul akum? After all, neither barley nor hops are edible raw — they become consumable only after they are cooked. Thus, shouldn’t any beer cooked by a non-Jew be prohibited as bishul akum?

This question is raised by Tosafos (Avodah Zarah 31b s.v. Vetarveihu), who explains that beer is permitted because it is not considered something that would be served on a king’s table. Tosafos presents a second answer: that the brocha on beer is shehakol. This teaches us that, from a halachic standpoint, the most important ingredient in the beer is not the grain, because then its brocha would be mezonos, but the water, and water is not prohibited as bishul akum because it is drinkable without being cooked (see also Avodah Zarah 37b; Tosafos Brachos 38a s.v. Hai; Mishnah Berurah 204:16).

The brew that made Bavel famous

Tosafos then rules that the prohibition applies both to beer made from grain, like our beer, and to the beer made from dates that was common at the time of the Gemara.

In the time of the Mishnah and Gemara, two varieties of beer were generally manufactured:

Babylonian beer – which was made from dates and hops. (Yes, this beer was Kosher lePesach!)

Medean beer – which also included a small percentage of barley malt (Mishnah Pesachim 42a; Gemara, Pesachim 42b). This latter type of beer was prohibited as chometz, although it had the status of ta’aroves chometz, a product that contains chometz, rather than chometz gamur, unadulterated chometz. Our beer, in which the main ingredient after water is barley malt, is considered chometz gamur (Rosh, Pesachim 3:1).

Kashrus of beer

Does beer in today’s world require a hechsher? According to the information available at the time that I am writing this article, beer today usually is made from only the following ingredients: barley malt, hops, and water. None of these ingredients presents a problem. However, there can be halachic problems of flavored beers and of chometz she’avar alav haPesach. Check labels for any mention of flavors added. Many breweries are coming out with specialty brews that have additives; even if you recognize the name of the company, don’t assume that all its varieties are kosher. 

Therefore, unflavored beers, domestic and imported, with no additives listed on the ingredient label, are acceptable even without a hechsher, as long as there is no problem of chometz she’avar alav haPesach, and you drink them in the comfort of your own home or anywhere outside the non-Jew’s house or business. This applies also to non-alcoholic and dark beers.

Oil

The Mishnah (Avodah Zarah 35a) states as follows: “These items of a non-Jew are prohibited [to eat], but benefit is permitted from them: milk, bread, and oil. Rebbe and his beis din permitted the oil.”

Tosafos notes that it is unclear whether these last words (“Rebbe and his beis din permitted the oil”) are part of the Mishnah, or whether they were added later, and that it was not Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi and his beis din who permitted oil of non-Jews, but his grandson, usually called Rabbi Yehudah Nesiah (see Tosafos, Avodah Zarah 36a s.v. Asher and 33b s.v. Ba’a).

This Mishnah leads us to many questions. Why was the oil of non-Jews prohibited and, assuming that it was, how could Rabbi Yehudah Nesiah (or his grandfather Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi) permit its use?

The Gemara quotes a dispute in the first generation of amora’im, between Rav and Shmuel, in which Rav holds that the original Mishnah contended that the oil of non-Jews was prohibited as an injunction created by the Biblical Daniel, and Shmuel holds it was prohibited because this oil was refined in non-kosher pots. Based on a verse in the book of Daniel (1:8), Rav understands that Daniel had implemented a gezeirah, similar to the prohibitions against wine of a non-Jew, that banned consuming oil processed by non-Jews. In the time of Daniel, this prohibition applied only in the cities, but, later, the beis din of the students of Shammai and Hillel extended the prohibition to ban this oil even outside cities.

Shmuel contended that the reason why the tanna kamma of the Mishnah banned the use of oil processed by non-Jews was due to a kashrus concern that existed in his day. Since oils were usually prepared at home, there was concern that even 100% pure vegetable oil might have been heated in non-kosher vessels, thus rendering the oil treif.

Both approaches need to be explained. If the prohibition was a takanah instituted by Daniel and by the students of Shammai and Hillel, how could the beis din headed by Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi/Nesiah permit it? There is a halachic principle that once a takkanah has been implemented, it can be overruled only by a beis din that is greater both in knowledge and in numbers, which was not the case in this instance. And if the oil was prohibited because it was refined in non-kosher pots, why did the later beis din allow it?

Releasing the gezeirah

The Gemara concludes that whenever Chazal make a gezeirah, it is binding only when the Jewish people observe it. If most of the Jewish people do not observe the gezeirah, it is not binding. Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi/Nesiah and his beis din researched and discovered that the gezeiros prohibiting non-Jewish oil were never observed by the majority of people. That being the case, the beis din of Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi/Nesiah could rescind the gezeirah.

Regarding the possibility that the oil was manufactured in non-kosher equipment, the Gemara explains that this was actually a dispute between the earlier great leaders, who prohibited the oil of non-Jews, and the beis din of Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi/Nesiah, which permitted it.

Let me explain:

The Gemara (Avodah Zarah 67b) quotes a dispute between tanna’im whether nosein ta’am lifgam (literally, something that provides a bad taste) is prohibited or permitted. If we assume that nosein ta’am lifgam is prohibited, oil that a non-Jew processed in his own equipment is prohibited because his equipment was previously used for non-kosher. However, if nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted, then food cooked in a pot that was not used in the last 24 hours is usually permitted, even when the pot was previously used for non-kosher. (Note that it is always prohibited le’chatchilah to cook food in such equipment.)

On this basis, although it is prohibited to use a non-kosher pot, food that was cooked in it using only kosher ingredients may remain kosher, since there is a possibility that the pot had not been used for the last 24 hours, and, even if it had been, the non-kosher cooked within the previous 24 hours may have contributed an unpleasant taste to the kosher food (see Tosafos, Avodah Zarah 35b s.v. Miklal).

The earlier Mishnah held that nosein ta’am lifgam is prohibited and, therefore, oil purchased from non-Jews may not be used. But since the accepted ruling is that nosein ta’am lifgam is permitted, the beis din of Rabbi Yehudah Hanasi/Nesiah ruled that it is kosher.

Modern vegetable oil

From a kashrus perspective, in the modern world, vegetable oil is indeed a very sensitive product. Vegetable oil is often refined on equipment that produces non-kosher animal shortening or fish oils. This equipment is not cleaned between productions, and there may be very high percentages, much higher than the ratio of bitul, of residual animal shortening on the equipment when the vegetable oil is produced. There is also the possibility that the oil is shipped in trailer trucks that previously held a non-kosher product. For these reasons, reliable kosher supervisory agencies are careful about which sources of vegetable oil they allow for use, and they have developed a system to make sure that the oil is transported in a way that does not render it non-kosher.

Deodorization

Most fats, even after refining, have characteristic flavors and odors, and vegetable fats, especially, have a relatively strong undesirable taste. In order to produce a tasteless fat, these oils may undergo deodorization. Unfortunately, if the deodorizing equipment is used also for animal shortening, this process makes the vegetable oil non-kosher.

The processing of vegetable oil without proper oversight can also be the cause of severe safety issues, as the following story indicates:

Toxic Oil Syndrome was the name given to a disease outbreak in Spain in 1981. Its first appearance was as a lung disease with unusual features: though the symptoms initially resembled a lung infection, antibiotics were ineffective. The disease appeared to be restricted to certain localities, and several members of a family could be affected, even while their neighbors had no symptoms. Following the acute phase, a range of other chronic symptoms were apparent. Eventually, the cause was traced to the consumption of rapeseed oil (canola is a safe and edible variety of rapeseed) that had been intended for industrial use, not for human consumption. It had been imported as cheap industrial oil, was subsequently refined and sold as “olive oil” by street vendors, and then used on salads and for cooking by the unsuspecting victims. The commonly accepted hypothesis states that toxic compounds added during the refinement process, used to denature oils intended for industrial use, were responsible for the illness.

Honey

Honey has been used as a food for thousands of years, and, until the advent of sugar refining, it was the most common food sweetener. To produce honey, bees suck nectar from flowers and deposit it into a special honey sac. Inside the sacs, enzymes contained in the bee’s saliva convert the nectar into honey, which the bees store in a honeycomb until they need it for food, or until the hive is raided by a two-legged forager. The nectar is never “digested” by the bee, but rather transformed into honey.

Is honey kosher? We know that milk and eggs of non-kosher species are non-kosher, so why is honey considered kosher? Regarding this question, the Gemara (Bechoros 7b) records a dispute between the tanna kamma and Rabbi Yaakov. The tanna kamma contends that honey is not produced by bees, but is simply modified plant nectar, unlike milk and eggs that are produced by the non-kosher species. For this reason, he rules that honey is kosher.

Rabbi Yaakov permits honey for a different reason: He contends that although there is indeed a universal rule prohibiting extracts of non-kosher species, a special Scriptural allusion excludes honey from this proscription.

The Mishnah (Avodah Zarah 39b) rules that honey may be purchased from a non-Jew and eaten. The Gemara (ad locum) questions why this is true, concluding that the three possible concerns why it should be prohibited do not apply to honey.

1. Admixture of non-kosher ingredients.

The Gemara concludes that we are not concerned that someone may add a non-kosher ingredient to honey, because any non-kosher product will ruin the taste of the honey.

2. Bishul akum

Since honey is edible raw, cooking honey does not create a prohibition of bishul akum.

3. Non-kosher equipment

The Gemara concludes that the non-kosher flavor in the equipment would create a nosein taam lifgam flavor in the honey, which is permitted.

Today, honey is an expensive commodity that is easily adulterated. However, the ingredients that are commonly used to adulterate it, such as sugar, sorghum syrup, molasses or corn sweetener, are kosher. As a result, we are not required to be concerned that the honey was adulterated with a non-kosher ingredient.

Every year around Rosh Hashanah, Israeli newspapers contain reports about unscrupulous companies selling adulterated honey. Certainly, one should be careful to purchase honey and not an adulterated product, particularly since one has no idea what the manufacturer may have added. However, from a strictly halachic point of view, the various cheaper sweetening ingredients used to adulterate honey, such as corn sweetener and molasses, are kosher; so it is difficult to imagine serious kashrus problems resulting from this unscrupulous practice.

We should note that “honey flavoring” and “flavored with honey” do not mean the same thing. “Honey flavoring” means a natural or synthetic flavoring that is meant to taste like honey, and could indeed contain non-kosher ingredients. Any food item, such as a sucking candy, that contains honey flavoring should have a reliable hechsher.

Conclusion

Based on the above information, we can gain a greater appreciation of how hard it is to maintain a high kashrus standard. We certainly have a greater incentive to become educated kosher consumers who better understand many aspects of the preparation of kosher food, and why it is important to ascertain that products have a proper hechsher. We should always hope and pray that the food we eat fulfills all the halachos that the Torah commands.

image_print